Goodbye Mr. Lemongrass

cymbopogon-272641_960_720

Hello gardening friends. I hope all is well and your gardens are flourishing. My garden is thriving with the exception of my Lemongrass. I started them from seeds and only one tiny stalk came up. I was overjoyed to see his tiny little head emerge. I played my favorite Classic Jazz album to encourage him to survive; to no avail. He just withered away…..poor little guy!

I love growing plants from seeds. It is my passion.  I have grown lemongrass from seed before and I will admit it can be challenging. Ah well….I will certainly try and try again (yes, I am stubborn). However, I highly recommend growing this fabulous plant from cuttings or even reuse a portion from a supermarket purchase.

A little more information about this plant:

Lemongrass (Cymbopogon citratus) is tall and spiky. It generally grows to a height of 2-3 feet and the actual plant is made up a cluster of individual stalks. Lemongrass has a subtle lemon fragrance and taste and is known for its culinary and medicinal properties. Distinctly delicious, the bottom portion of the plant is typically infused with meat, fish and vegetable dishes, most notably, it is widely used in Asian cuisine. The leaves release a citrusy flavor, and certainly enhances multiple beverages; most notably, teas. My personal favorite is Iced Lemongrass Tea.

drink-167053_960_720
Iced Lemongrass Tea

4 cups water
1/2 Sugar
5 Lemongrass stalks – bottom portions (chopped coarsely)

Bring the water to a boil in a saucepan over high heat. Slowly add the lemongrass pieces and allow it to reach a rapid boil for 5 minutes. Reduce to low heat and let it boil for 5 more minutes. Strain the mixture and reserve the liquid only. Pour the sugar into a pitcher, then gradually add the liquid. Stir until dissolved. Chill in the refrigerator for an hour, then pour over ice. Will provide 8 servings.

9 Comments Add yours

  1. I propagated lemon grass from grocery store stalk, just put it on water , within 1 to 2 weeks will have root on it, just keep changing the water daily.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am going to try this method. It sounds easier. Thanks for stopping by.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Susanne says:

    Uh oh. I planted lemongrass in my hanging baskets on the front deck. They’re growing, well, like grass and I can see they’re going to be bigger than I thought. They could suffocate my pretty purple petunias and verbena!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yikes…yes, they can be pretty tall with wide stalks…

      Like

  3. robinwinter says:

    In rooting lemongrass I was advised (by the grocer!) to set the stalks at a 45 degree angle in my rooting mix rather than the ordinary upright position. Having had very poor luck earlier in my attempts to root this fragrant plant, I was enchanted to find this trick worked and I have had no trouble since creating new sets for friends or for myself.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Excellent…I will definitely try this method. Thank you so much for sharing.

      Like

  4. Helen says:

    Sorry your lemongrass didn’t grow. Will you try again from seed? I like growing things from seed, too.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, I am pretty sure I will try to grow them from seeds again. I am pretty stubborn LOL

      Liked by 1 person

  5. sevenroses says:

    thank you for this tip and treat. we in India make hot tea with lemon grass. an aunt of mine who died recently, in Bombay, always gave us this tea with breakfast and for some reason, always with buttered toasted puffs! Not so healthy but yummy. I am now going to try this cool tea as it sounds great with ice

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

